IN RECOVERY

I am still in recovery after convening and running the first national deacons’ conference last Saturday in Birmingham.

Related image

I reckon I had about 12 hours’ sleep over 4 days and it’s taking me some time to process it all mentally, to write up reports and stats, and start thinking about the next one.

What was fabulous for all of us was the opportunity to get together with other (permanent) deacons (ie people who are not called to priesthood).  I remember the first time that happened for me … way back when I wasn’t even ordained, but was in training.  I was suddenly with my tribe, speaking my language.  I found  I was with people to whom we didn’t need to explain ourselves, as we usually have to in the Church of England.  This is because people are always ordained deacon first, just for a year, and then ordained again, this time as a priest.  This means very few can understand why some of us are called to stay a deacon and develop a ministry which is about the church getting out into the community, working with people on the margins of society, having a particular interest in poverty and justice issues.

But we love it, and the greatest joy was to be with people who share the excitement and privilege of our mutual vocation.

buzz groups 3

5 thoughts on “IN RECOVERY

  1. How wonderful having a tribe! All sounds so very positive, I bet you’re catching up on sleep now. It’s always good to reflect afterwards.xxx

    Like

  2. Who needsZZzzz sleep with that level of energy and buzzzzzzzzzzzz..

    Delighted It went so well.

    Like

    1. Thank you! I am still in a kind of daze.

      Like

  3. Wonderful tribute to The Diaconate…..having so many together….roots deeply embedded in the early church…Congrats! Hugs.😇

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close