Of backs, absentee landlords and a sick sister

Well, I don’t approve of this week.  It has not measured up to my standards of ‘a nice week’.

Firstly, I was making the place spick and span for people who wanted to view it (it’s up for sale). Somehow I wrenched the left side of my back which was painful.  This went along with the right side of my back, which ‘went’ nearly a year ago and I’ve been wearing a support belt ever since. Grrnn. And ow.

Then, the people who saw the flat loved it.  Oh good, we thought – a sale?  However, we were then phoned by the estate agent who was horrified:  what had we said about our absentee freeholder??  It had really put them off!  I felt devastated – is this always going to be a deal-breaker?

Then yesterday I get an alarming email from my sister, who lives near Preston in Lancashire:  she had spent the night in A&E with a tongue that kept swelling.  It could have killed her because she would not have been able to breathe.

Aarghh.

However.

We phoned the couple who had bought the top flat in our block of three, some years ago.  Oh, they said, we took out an Absentee Landlord Indemnity policy.  No problems. I email the estate agent and ask them to point this out to the viewers. It was an older lady and her son:  she loved the flat, but he caught cold with the absentee landlord thing and is trying to steer her away from it.  All we can do is give them the information – and wait until after Easter, but I don’t think this will go through.  It’s understandable – the son just wants something straightforward for his Mum with no problems. *Sigh*

Then, my sister’s son, who is a doctor and was staying with her with his family, whizzed her to A&E and stayed with her all night until the swelling went down and he was able to take her home.  She has become allergic to her blood pressure medication:  she must come off it at once, she was told, and have all her meds checked by her GP next week.

Meanwhile, she’s supposed to rest.  With 4 grandchildren in the house.  Chance would be a fine thing.

And I’ve been out for a blowy, sunny walk to the next-door bay, and watched families on the swan boats, and dogs racing around on the beaches. Followed by a cup of tea in a favourite cafe with Hub, who bought a chocolate pastry.

And I’m reminded that the Lord is my shepherd, and promises to look after us, and can cope with a flat for sale which has an absentee landlord.

2 thoughts on “Of backs, absentee landlords and a sick sister

  1. Oh no, poor sister! Has she made a recovery?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, thank goodness! She was fine.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close