BC : AD

I’ve posted this poem before, but it was some time ago.   I guess these days the title would not be considered ‘politically correct’ as we are now supposed to say ‘Before common era’ instead of ‘Before Christ’.  As far as I can see this is just playing spillikins with words.

Anyway, the Christian church remembers and celebrates this week the visit of the Eastern sages to Jesus and his family, known as the ‘Epiphany’.  For us it’s of huge significance because it shows how Jesus is for all people everywhere, not just for his own Jewish people.

Here it is.

BC : AD

This was the moment when Before
Turned into After, and the future’s
Uninvented timekeepers presented arms.

This was the moment when nothing
Happened. Only dull peace
Sprawled boringly over the earth.

This was the moment when even energetic Romans
Could find nothing better to do
Than counting heads in remote provinces.

And this was the moment
When a few farm workers and three
Members of an obscure Persian sect
Walked haphazard by starlight straight
Into the kingdom of heaven.

U A Fanthorpe (1929-2009)

The wise men were traditionally from Persia, modern Iran, and this painting is by an Iranian artist.

11 thoughts on “BC : AD

  1. I do like her work.BTW I thought BCE meant before common era.But it’s hard to change ,But with wider awareness people like to have non-religious terms it appears.When are we going to see your poems?You did plan to write some I think.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Have you never got over his death?Or is it you are too busy?It is very time consuming to keep editing etc.And if I stop for a few days I find it’s hard to start but anyway I am going to stop blogging and do it on paper

        Like

      2. No, my father was 90 and astonishingly well-prepared for his own death. Death of someone we love always leaves us feeling sad and aware of the hole in our lives which only they could fill, but it is an inevitable part of life. As the Africans say ‘Welcome our sister death, and let her sit by your fire.’ I think that’s wonderful wisdom.

        I’m writing other things these days, but have had very little time the last couple of months owing to family probs. Hope you’re keeping well in this very wet weather.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I’ve been ill for 3 months with a UTI and so been alone alot.The antibiotics seem not to work.The doctor thinks I got over tired with my husband but he had a good death with me singing to him.He seemed happy and it was a good event but ,of course ,I miss him

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

