OF BATHS, WASHING MACHINES AND LEGALITIES

We are very contented in our flat, but there are a couple of flies in the ointment.  One of them is that the sea air is high in humidity.  As our flat is on the ground floor, and dug into the side of the hill at the back, we don’t get the warmth and air movement they get upstairs in the other two flats.  So drying clothes is an absolute pain.  If I’m not careful and they dry too slowly, they smell musty and are unwearable.  I’ve tried all sorts of ways round this, and I’ve now got a system in place that works pretty well … but it’s not ideal.

Also, we are very tight on storage space.  There are no places in the flat where we can put any more furniture – it’s even difficult finding a surface to take a vase of flowers!  Not that I’m complaining – it’s fine for the two of us.

So.  We have a bathroom with both a bath and a shower.  And neither of us is a bath person – we always have showers, just in case you were hunting for a peg to put on your nose.  So the obvious thing is – can we take out the bath, and plumb in the washing machine in its place along with a tumble dryer? That would release some precious space in the kitchen.

The answer is No, says our friendly electrician.  No electrical equipment should be within 3 metres of a shower or bath.  And there’s no way our bathroom is that big. However, says he.  If you were to build a cupboard in the bathroom, and put the washing machine in there, then that would be legal.  

Aha .

But will the Church of England Pensions Board, who co-own this place with us, give us permission???  Will they think that taking out the bath will reduce the value of the property?  

I’ve asked the question … now we wait to see 

36 thoughts on “OF BATHS, WASHING MACHINES AND LEGALITIES

    1. Oh that’s interesting. It’s nice to know other people have the same problem! Yes, we have a little dehumidifier and it is really effective. I use it to dry the clothes more quickly – and that way they spend less time in the tumble drier.

      Like

  1. Oh blimey! I shall be scrutinizing the property pros as I am sure I have seen downstairs facilities which had washing machines/tumble dryers in as well as a wet room shower ………

    Drying clothes is a bind when there is no ‘air’ space – the downside of most flats [purpose built or converted] is the lack of storage space, that attic or dining room is often missed.

    Like

  2. well I’m all worried and indignant about your HEALTH in a damp and briney atmosphere in your flat jammed into the side of a damp old hill:> But I do hope they let you have a cupboard in the bathroom to put a drier machine in :yes:

    I think I should march down to Devon and build you a nice solid warm straw bale house with plenty of room :>

    Like

      1. 🙂 Glad you’re not defeated. It is an interesting problem to get yer teeth into. I’m imagining putting a plastic fold up greenhouse over your washing airers and putting a heater thing in there till all is dried. You’d have to have a little chimney at the top to let the damp out… hmmmm…….:>

        Like

      2. Well … I know I’m not spos’t to … but I do have a little dehumidifier in the bathroom which I switch on when the rack is full – it is AMAZING ! And now (shhhh |-| ) I have put some boards over the bath, and stood a little tumble drier on the top, and got a big long pipe which I hang out of the window … and I finish them off in there :yes: And yes I have got an rcd or whatever it’s called – so machine will cut out if there’s a problem 🙄

        Like

    1. Trouble is, because they partly own the property they have the whip hand … I bet our housing officer never gets back to me and I shall be phoning him about this in a few weeks!!! That’s what usually happens :**:

      Like

  3. Now you’re not asking for much are you? All you want is too dry clothes, surely they will agree to that, it’s quite easy to put a bath back down the line!!!
    I hope you fine the best people to do it, you don’t want no explosions when you’re in the shower now do you?
    I hate using my dyer, it’s not at all environmentally friendly, whenever I have the heating on I dry clothes on the radiators…it’s funny watching me running around removing clothes every time the doorbell goes!!!xxx

    Like

    1. I know that driers aren’t very green 😦 and if there was an alternative I would do it :yes: Sometimes I miss my enormous vicarage with acres of radiators and a large airing cupboard … I REALLY miss that!!

      Like

  4. I am not a fan of combi washer/dryer machines. My mother bought one to ease her physical carrying load, plus for similar considerations to yours, in about 1999. She did not skimp on price either. The machine was not in use for long…why? she disliked it she said, it took too long to do things and the laundry did not look good at the end of lengthy cycles. Though she did not mention it, I think fuel would have been a consideration too, as the machine was using lots of electricity. Mother had worked out though, that it was more economic to use the communal facilities she had access to and for which she paid.

    Recently when visiting, we had access to a combi washing machine. Three and a half hours for towels. The shortest combi programme was two hours. Fortunately, there were a couple of fine days and the whirlygig drying line in the garden beckoned. We also mocked up some airing ideas and got round using the drying cycles that way.

    I like the drying racks that are around again, but, you do need the right space for using them, to avoid introducing too much humidity into your home being one major consideration.

    Hope is works out for you.

    Like

    1. Exactly, to all of the above. The cycles are ridiculously long and yes, heavy on electricity. Fortunately I got one with a 30 minute cycle which is very useful, although I do then have to give the clothes an extra and faster spin. I’ve learned that the trick is to dry the clothes as quickly as possible, to avoid them getting smelly!

      Like

  5. liked that; disposable paper clothes, My land lady used to hang them on a rack in the kitchen, no problem. if its not enough, place a fan on them OR send them to me. Rgds

    Like

  6. Ypu can get disposable knickers but not bras!!It would be expensive.I got some once from Sainsburys as pneumonia made me wet myself for 3 weeks..any way I was glad to get better from that.
    We find it hard to dry washing here except in the bathroom where we have a thing across from wall to wall high up with 4 lines on it.If I put shirts on coathangers up there they dry quickly.Even in summer the garden is not that warm unless it’s a heat wave.
    Try washing clothes less often!!

    Like

    1. Having lived in so many houses over the years I’ve got all sorts of tricks to deal with the drying problem – but I’ve never had the difficulties I have now. I can’t even put up a rack or lines in the bathroom as it has been tiled floor to ceiling.

      Easiest was in Nigeria – in the dry season I could put two lots of clothes, one on top of the other, on the lines to stop them drying too fast and being as hard as stone – from the sublime to the ridiculous!

      Like

      1. Was it collected from your house and then returned? It used to be quite common, didn’t it – I remember my grandmother having all her linen cleaned on a regular basis and then returned. It’s a great idea but our laundrette is some distance away.

        Like

      2. No, we just took it and collected it.Sometimes I did it myself and went on my bike.Then we did it on Saturdays before we bought the grooceries.Sometimes we still take things there… just an ordinary laundrette…

        Like

  7. No matter how large our houses, there is not always enough room for all of our modern-day appliances. I have had to sacrifice storage space in the kitchen in order to fit the appliances in.
    Good luck with your request. If it doesn’t succeed, then you may need to start wearing disposable paper clothes LOL !! :))

    Like

  8. What about a washing line ? Then just wait for windy days ? Also a combined washer / drier could replace existing machine in kitchen or wherever ! No need to lose your bath !

    Like

    1. I have a combined washer drier which I bought specially, but the drier is an absolute menace and ruins the clothes. I’ve had to buy a separate drier which is much better. Yes I do put the washing outside the back – there is a rotary drier out there – on fine days but nothing dries outside in this weather.

      Like

      1. I have two drying racks which I use all the time, but my point is that the air is so damp I can’t get clothes dry properly. They are still damp even after 3 days and they begin to smell. The secret is to dry them more quickly, so I have to supplement the racks with a drier. The people in the top flat don’t have this problem – it’s warmer and airier up there and the clothes dry quickly for them.

        Like

Leave a Reply

