WHAT THE DONKEY SAW

It’s a bit early for Christmas stuff, although of course the shops don’t think so … but I have to return this poetry book to a friend today, and so I’ve decided to post this delightful poem before I do:

WHAT THE DONKEY SAW
No room in the inn, of course,
And not that much in the stable,
What with the shepherds, Magi, Mary,
Joseph, the heavenly host –Β 
Not to mention the baby
Using our manger as a cot.
You couldn’t have squeezed another cherub in
For love or money.

Still, in spite of the overcrowding,
I did my best to make them feel wanted.
I could see the baby and I
Would be going places together.
18 thoughts on “WHAT THE DONKEY SAW

  1. I saw an interview once with a famous musician on TV . he was asked about his qualities, the answer was very unexpected : I have the patience on the dog . Since then I respected those creatures.

    Like

      1. That’s OK – I realised what you meant! When I lived in Nigeria the Hausa people have a saying ‘hutun jaki da kaya a baya’ – the rest of the donkey, with his load still on his back.

        Donkeys can seem very patient. But they can also be immensely stubborn. Maybe these are two sides of the same coin!

        Like

      1. I’m posting one all specially for you, David – see my next post! It’s not me of course, but it is in the 1950s, those are the donkeys we rode, and we knew those women. You can also see the bullocks yoked to the carts which are going to the Potato Patches. The whole family worked on these together and would take the spuds home in the carts.

        Like

Leave a Reply

