WHAT IT’S REALLY LIKE TO TRY AND LIVE ON BENEFITS

A friend of mine responded to Giles Fraser’s column http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/belief/2014/feb/21/church-bloody-angry-attacks-poor

by saying how she has found it, trying to live on benefits.  I think it’s so important to give airtime to stories like hers – not so-called ‘scroungers’, but the poor who really do want to work.  She says:

‘I am with Giles too, and it is a scandal that the most vulnerable people are scapegoated etc etc :no: I found surviving on benefits impossible. It is not possible to survive on benefits unless you have no phones no internet no heating on and never afford new shoes or clothes…..and you are hassled and hassled to look for a job and hundreds of people go for same job and so on and so on…. horrible. :no: and if Daughter didn’t contribute I would not be able to live within my means :no: and the depressingness of being unemployed absolutely drains and saps your energy – horrible…. is why I prefer to work though I’m not much better off…at least I have self-respect which means a huge amount to people….and makes you feel as if you live in the world as oppose to lurk in its shadows….’

Government ministers, media moguls, take note and let’s hear more of this and less of the scapegoating.

2 thoughts on “WHAT IT’S REALLY LIKE TO TRY AND LIVE ON BENEFITS

  1. In total agreement with this, I’ve known lots of people who work for a low income just to get off benefits….and there really are precious few jobs about now and those that are are being chased by droves of people. I heard a binman’s job had tow and a half thousand applicants….I think that says it all.xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

