A SECOND BOOKER PRIZE

I’m delighted that Hilary Mantel has won a second Booker – the first woman ever to do so – for her novel ‘Bring up the bodies’. I haven’t read it yet, but I surely shall. It is the sequel to ‘Wolf Hall’, which won the Booker before. I’ve read that one and think it’s amazing. Her ability to get behind the eyes of Henry VIII’s minister Cromwell is powerful, strange and uncanny, and her ability to make the language sound authentic is very rare in historical novels.

I had to dump loads of books before moving here, but Wolf Hall I kept, as I knew I would go back to it.

Congratulations to her indeed – and I’m wondering which of my current books I shall take to the charity shop to make room for Bring up the Bodies ๐Ÿ˜‰

Hilary-Mantel--011[1]

24 thoughts on “A SECOND BOOKER PRIZE

  1. I haven’t read any of Hilary Mantel’s books, so on your recommendation I will see if I can pick up a copy (of her earlier ones) from the library. Let us know how you get on with the latest one if you buy it x

    Like

  2. I have to admit to not having read any of Hilary Mantel’s books, I’m always on the lookout for a great read so shall look forward to giving these two a whirl. Nothing better than a good book as the dark nights pull in.xxxxx

    Like

      1. I believed it was a discussion but now I see myself and certain others are not allowed to write here…….Most people would believe it was a compliment to achieve such a discussion with a post.
        I shall keep away from Godschool then if you don’t want to know what I think…what kind of school is that,I wonder?Blckbird wrote some things I’d have saved.I think ideally
        you should have given us a chance to “save” the discussion before you eliminated it.you can send a private message rather than leave folk to find out.
        I understand your state of mind having both personally and via my husband gone through this.I wish you the very best.but I believe in open discussion on religion ,politics and all other important issues.
        Best if I keep away now.

        Like

      2. As you wish. I have always been open to discussion and disagreement but my strapline is ‘with respect’, which was not forthcoming.
        This discussion is now closed.

        Like

  3. I have been a fan of hers since “Eight months on Ghazza Street.She’s a great writer and has turned her suffering into creativity…she’s had a tough time.I have just read this book…. it’s well worthy.

    Like

    1. I read the one on the French Revolution, but didn’t get on so well with that – I found it rather rambling and massive although she has an extraordinary ability to get inside her characters’ heads.

      Like

    1. Am enjoying some of the books you’ve recommended recently, Janet. Thoroughly enjoyed Hare with Amber Eyes and also more of Robert Harris. I thought Enigma was excellent but didn’t manage the gory details of the violence in Fatherland!

      Like

Leave a Reply

