I’M SOOOOOOOOOOOO TIRED …

Reminds me of that Beatles song:

‘I’m so tired
I haven’t slept a wink
I’m so tired
My mind is on the brink:
I wonder should I get up
And fix myself a drink?…’

… except I’m sleeping better here than I have for many a long year. Even so, I’m finding I have very little energy, either mental or physical. I’m doing the necessities each day, so long as I can have lots of little sit-downs :zz:

Since we retired and moved here, life has been hectic, very full, non-stop. We’ve been furnishing and unpacking into a flat which is lovely but it has been a huge challenge at every stage – and we have moved about 35 times in our 40 years of marriage so we have had just a little bit of experience 😉

At the same time there has been the treatment of the melanoma on my thumb and the two-month wait to find out whether it was an invasive sort, in which case I would need a partial amputation of the thumb, or whether it was in situ. It was a great relief to learn that it was non-invasive and no further treatment is needed. I certainly wasn’t sitting around worrying – no chance – but it was at the back of my mind all the time, if you know what I mean.

In between this, the family have nearly all been to visit, which has been brilliant: but little people set the pace at these times, and it is a much faster pace than ours 8| Sometimes Hub and I look at each other and say ‘for heavens’ sake, how did we manage with 4 children????’ The answer, of course, is that we were younger …

So I suspect the thumb tiredness and the moving and settling into a flat tiredness and the visitor tiredness and just the chance AT LAST to ‘let go’ have all combined into one big tiredness.

Excuse me. After all that, I need a rest … )-o

24 thoughts on “I’M SOOOOOOOOOOOO TIRED …

  1. The sleep of a labourer is sweet,
    whether they eat little or much,
    but as for the rich, their abundance
    permits them no sleep.

    Ecclesiastes 5:11-13 (New International Version)

    Like

  2. Ahhhh…you poor love. I’m not al all surprised that you’re tired….what with all the stress of moving and you’re poor thumb….I think it’s nature’s way of slowing you down after all the endless strife. You deserve you’re retirement and I’m sure after a few restful weeks you will be hunky dory again….you look after you me dear gal!!! Huglets!xxxxx

    Like

  3. As I was saying earlier in the week – its great seeing visitors but it half knocks it out of you – slept into 9am this morning but then we have an excuse – its my husbands birthday and he started his (brief) holiday today!

    Like

  4. I am so glad about your thumb. It is a scary thing. Moving oh bless you I have moved so much I think that is the norm and when I unback as start a daily schudule that is stress:)) I retired early for the money but really didnt think mind and body was ready for it ahhhh but I was wrong my body and mind heard retire and that is exactly what they did.Have a good rest

    Like

  5. So glad to hear the good news on your thumb. The following words come to mind though really as you know I believe in God within. Praise the Lord for he is kind, for his mercies aye endure , ever faithful, ever sure. David.

    Like

  6. As Indigo says, moving – even though you’ve done it lots – is still very stressful… and wow you have had so much stress and worry with thumb and family things…. crikey… but also….. if you live near the sea when you weren’t before…. the sea air can be quite sort of knock out….:yes:

    Hope you get lots of sleep and rest and relaxation and good nourishing food :yes: and LOOK AFTER YOURSELVES!!! (throws a particularly huge flagon of milk thrustingly across floor just to emphasise the shoutiness 😉 )

    huggerly wuggerlies!!!

    Like

  7. We have to learn as we get older to sense our limits, for they’ve changed. It can be just as much fun to do the things we used to do, but it’s usually better if it isn’t as intensive as it one was, and if there’s more rest. I am on vacation this week with friends and relatives, and I find it’s hard to resist some of the temptations and the expectations of those around me who are less sensitive to my limited capacity, and expect me to function as I once did… All in all though, I have to say, that this age and retirement, has been a great pleasure to me, and I can recommend it highly. smile.

    Like

  8. Just in time….I caught your post……Shall be both ‘retire’…..:yes: you to yours and I to mine? :)):)) That’s what happens in ‘retirement’…..:roll: Hugs! xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

