SEEING THE SURGEON

Off we tootled yesterday to see the surgeon. He was rather haughty, and looked closely at Mme Thumb, and decided that he wasn’t quite sure how to deal with her, but he wanted to do it asap. So I am now on the urgent list 8|

He said that he wasn’t convinced that it was a melanoma ‘in situ’ – which is the less sinister melanoma that is only in the top layers of the skin. He was going to hack off most of the thumb pad and then have another histology report. It might be invasive melanoma instead, he said, which is much more serious and I could die from it 8| 8| 8|

Why couldn’t he have been more direct and to the point, I wonder: :lalala:

Anyway, if it is, then I would have to go back and have more of the thumb off. Sounds a bit longwinded to me – I’d rather have it all done in one fell swoop :yes: Vive Madame La Guillotine!!

We shall see. Meanwhile, poor old Hub was having a rough time. He’d dropped me off at Outpatients and gone to park the car. A woman was just backing out so once she was clear, he started to move into her space. At that moment a guy in a car just beyond her drove straight into Hub’s car, on the driver’s side.

They both got out. The other driver was foul-mouthed and abusive. Shouted that he had agreed with the woman who had just gone that he would have her space (oh yeah??) That he was going to call the police. That it was Hub’s fault.

Hub pointed out that the other driver was the one that had gone into him, not vice versa. He said he would welcome a call to the police. And could he have the other guy’s insurance details?

He thought the other guy was going to hit him. In the end he said if he would give him the insurance details then the other guy could have the space. The other guy refused and stormed off. Hub took down his number plate, and arrived in the waiting area rather upset and shaken up.

For many years now we’ve had a policy of celebrating the downs as well as the ups … 😉 … so we went home and had chocolate cake and tea and I went for another paddle :>>

41 thoughts on “SEEING THE SURGEON

  1. Just stopped by after so long. Please forgive me, but my husband’s son keeps having more miseries. His wife cast him out last September and he has chosen the most dreadful places to live in, for he was only given one week to leave. We have bailed him out, but he did hurt himself trying to get his double bed back down the wooden stairs from the noise above. So Tuesday he must have a hernia op. It goes on and on, and I am unable to write very much. Ever since we landed here, I have ben so ill too. this place just does not agree with me – after AFrica, Mexico, England and onwards o- only malaria in Kano. But it is not healtlhy for me here, even though the breezes are divine. Almost like a curse.
    But you have been on my mind. It apears that you have already lost some of your thumb, for which I am sorely sad. I complain about my muscular problem when typing, but at least my thumb will work for enough in time to let me get the messages down.
    May the return news of this second examination be good, and may your thumb be allowed to continue it’s recovery, so that you can finally become used to it as it is now.
    I shall pray for you and your (wonderfuly thought up by God!) thumb. XXX & Hugs

    Like

    1. Thank you, Charlotte, for your always-kind comments. I had a biopsy on my thumb, and it is this which has led to the diagnosis of melanoma. I must lose the top part of it – how much, they are not yet certain: I am waiting for a date for the surgery. I’ve been put on the urgent list so it should be within a month.

      I am so sorry about your poor health. It must be miserable, dealing with different problems day after day. May God give you the strength you need, as you need it!

      Like

      1. Polishing up my patience, personality, forebearance and love of God! There is always something we must face, we are being judged all the time as to our reactions. Bit like meeting an old tramp who needs a meal – and he turns into an Angel!!

        Like

      2. Indeed. I’m strengthened by Psalm 139: ‘before I formed you in the womb, I knew you’ – God knows every bit of us, from before the beginning until after the end.

        Like

  2. My dear Gilly! What a horrible old day at the hospital and I am so sorry the surgeon was a pillock and the guy in the carpark horrible to Hub 😦 I don’t know why but often loads of horrible things all have to hit us at once as if to bring yer right down and it isn’t fair… I am so glad you went and celebrated the bad though – what an excellent way to deal with it – and I might copy you in the future next time loads of the upsetting things heap up on my head!!

    HUGE HUGS… and please do some paddling in the sea for me!!!xxxx

    Like

    1. Love the hugs – thank you so much – and yeah, I did some paddling with the kids this morning and next time I shall shout ‘THIS ONE’S FOR ARAT’ at the waves 😉

      Yeah … it’s ole him-down-there who waits until we’re down and then gives us a good ole kicking but we know his tactics |-| and the angels have already got one over on him and his minions :yes:

      We decided when we first came home from Nigeria, in the 80s, when we had 2 years of horrible times, that we would celebrate the downs as well as the ups. By my calculations that gives us 5 times as many celebrations as we would have if we only celebrated the ups :no: :))

      Like

      1. I think it a most excellent idea though it is great that there will be so much to celebrate :>> 😦 ….. :))

        Time for the ole butt-kicking prayer……;) HOLY MICHAEL ARCHANGEL……. 😉

        The grandchildren will be curious to know why you so generously shout ‘this one’s for a rat!’ 😉 xxx

        Like

      2. In fact I myself went for a paddle unexpectedly today and I thought of you a couple of hundred miles away along the same coast line but down in Devon! 🙂 The tide was right out which meant there was quite a reasonable amount of sand so the temptation to paddle was just toom great to resist! Otherwise the beaches here are really pebbly….

        Like

      3. We had a couple of holidays in Brighton many years ago and I remember the beaches as being shingly. Pouring with rain here today! The family have all gone out to jump in puddles but I am opting for a quiet hour 😉 trying to install the new Kodak printer on Hub’s laptop :>

        Like

      4. :no: think I’m probably going to have to uninstall it all and then try again 😦 Funny because it installed easily on mine 😉

        Like

  3. It does sound like a difficult day… and that driver insufferable… but who knows what he’s thinking about… in the parking lot of a hospital. I’m sure there are a lot of troubled souls there. Best wishes for better days ahead. Bt the way, I don’t seem to be getting notifications of your posts… but no matter, I keep checking… I know there are a lot of problems these days on BCUK.

    Like

    1. I don’t know why that should be :??: Thank you for your good wishes. That’s what Hub thought – who knows what was on the other man’s mind?

      Like

  4. What a day to remember….and I am so glad that you are able to celebrate the bad with the good.

    I am thinking about you at this time and know that with your strong faith you will pull through this with flying colours.
    Keep paddling and eating the chocolate cake. xx

    Like

  5. What a day to remember….and I am so glad that you are able to celebrate the bad with the good.

    I am thinking about you at this time and know that with your strong faith you will pull through this with flying colours.
    Keep paddling and eating the chocolate cake. xx

    Like

  6. Really sorry to hear all this gilly. What is it with these surgeons and their (none) bedside manner especially as you were on your own. Ignorant man, they should sometimes think how it would sound if they were on the receiving end.

    I do hope it all gets sorted soon, you’ve had soooo much on as well with the move, but I guess it’s taken you mind of it a little. Let’s just hope its now sooner rather than later. Always here for you gilly if you need me.

    Sorry to hear about the stupid driver as well, but I’ve seen it before in the hospital car parks (been in too many of them) and it seems to happen quite often, but at least hubby managed to get his number plate.

    Your recipe for it all with chocolate cake, tea and a paddle sounded delightful. Rest up this weekend you deserve it :)xxxx

    Like

    1. thanks so much, Barmac, for these lovely comments. When I start thinking about it then I remember you in your situation and realise that mine is trivial by comparison. You are an inspiration!

      Family is here for the week so not much chance to rest 😉 – but certainly lots of time to have fun!

      Hugs xx

      Like

  7. This is a second opinion without a doubt. Also, maybe a different way of working. I thought a histology report was available already from the other hospital. Don’t they communicate?

    What a heady day. A treat was the obvious answer to cope with it.

    Like

    1. Yes, he had the histology report in front of him, but there’s obviously some doubt in his mind. He did seem rather put out that he seemed to be having ‘second bite’ and demanded why the results were from Birmingham.

      It’s odd how so often medical personnel seem to behave in non-social ways.

      Like

      1. The query is mostly due to a competitive streak, that anyone who does not work in the community develops to the highest degree. That’s how those individuals became expert ‘gods’ of their medical domains. He may have spotted something from a different experience base.

        In addition, the satisfying of the man’s concerns, insofar as it goes, and not taking up too much time, is no bad thing. These days there are more ways than one to pursue an action programme, if available.

        Let’s hope he accepts gracefully, the reason for the Birmingham report.

        Like

      2. Yes, as Daughter 2 knows only too well, the world of surgery is hugely competitive and as a woman she has to work twice as hard to be accepted.

        Anyway, it takes all sorts. The only thing of real relevance is that he is good at his job!

        Like

  8. Well he certainly needs a little work on his bedside manner!!! Surely there are better ways of saying things…that’s really scary!

    Awwwww what a day for you and poor hubs…..I hope you enjoyed the cake and the paddle!

    Sending you all the luck in the world….xxxxx

    Like

  9. Hope your poor old thumb turns out ok you will have to stick a thimble on the end to use it like a chap i knew did when he lost the end of his. Hope its nothing too serious thinking of you.xx

    Like

  10. Oh dear how rotten of that man to drive off. Sorry to hear your news as well and yes I agree if it was me I would rather have it all done in one go. Hope they come back with some good news.

    Like

  11. I am really sorry to hear this,Gilly.I know how hard it is waiting to see the surgeon and then trying to take in what they say as well.I am sure that your husband must have been very shaken with the driver too.Hope you can rest and give yourselves time to absorb this news.Thinking of you.Love,Kathrym

    Like

    1. Many thanks, Kathryn. Do appreciate it.

      By the way, I commented on your recent post on having pain in your hands – but then it completely disappeared, comment, post and all!

      Like

      1. Thanks,I didn’t see your comment and I thought why tell everyone?It’s not so important.Are you having any street party down there?We nhave one and new people come.It’s so nice for them

        Like

      2. We’re too new and also too exhausted with all the sorting out to know what’s going on, quite! Half the family are coming down and thoughtfully staying next door in some holiday flats, as we are not yet in a fit state to have them to stay.

        Like

  12. A day to remember Gilly in more ways than won why are people so agressive these days I refuse to drive any more precisely because some drivers are so bad tempered 😦

    Like

    1. I know that hospital parking is an absolute nightmare everywhere, and probably people are extra stressed when they are there which probably brings out the worst in some people.

      Like

Leave a Reply

