CONTEMPLATION AND ACTION: OPPOSITES OR BEDFELLOWS?

holdinghands[1]

(pic from Integral+Life)

‘ … you cannot grow in the great art form, the integration of action and contemplation, without

1) a strong tolerance for ambiguity;

2) an ability to allow, forgive, and contain a certain degree of anxiety; and

3) a willingness to not know and not even need to know.

This is how you allow and encounter mystery.

All else is mere religion.’

From Richard Rohr, From A Lever And a Place to Stand: The Contemplative Stance, the Active Prayer

I’ve always thought that, in order for us to have an integrated life, we need to have both contemplation and action: to contemplate God – who he is, what he says, what he says to me: and to act on the insights received. But I’ve not given much thought to the ‘how’ of it. Rohr makes me think!

14 thoughts on “CONTEMPLATION AND ACTION: OPPOSITES OR BEDFELLOWS?

    1. Not sure I know myself πŸ˜‰ – but it somehow sent echoes into my brain about half-formed thoughts … I keep wondering whether to get the book and then I wonder if I’ll read it :crazy:

      Like

      1. Ah that’s alright then and I know what you mean about it sending echoes of half-formed thoughts – the sort you can sort of just about catch hold of nearly almost but instinctively know it’s right if you JUST……:) I know what you mean!

        Like

Leave a Reply

