THE OLD ONES ARE THE BEST: PREACHING TEMPERANCE!

A minister was completing a temperance sermon.

With great emphasis he said, ‘If I had all the beer in the world, I’d take it and pour it into the river.’

With even greater emphasis he said, ‘And if I had all the wine in the world, I’d take it and pour it into the river.’

And then finally, shaking his fist in the air, he said, ‘And if I had all the whisky in the world, I’d take it and
pour it into the river.’

Sermon complete, he sat down.

The song leader stood and announced somewhat nervously,

‘Our closing hymn is 365, ‘Shall We Gather at the River?’

:>>

shall we gather at the river

(photo from website of David Hamid, suffragan Bishop in Europe)

24 thoughts on “THE OLD ONES ARE THE BEST: PREACHING TEMPERANCE!

  1. The minister certainly looked well beyond the square when he carefully selected the appropriate hymn 365.

    The one who chose the picture was obviously in the same boat.

    I have just posted my latest in ‘Our Memories’.

    Like

Leave a Reply

