FREDDIE THE FEARLESS FLY and MIRABELLE THE MOSQUITO

Bug[1]

It’s nice to see Freddie again. I made the acquaintance of Freddie many years ago, when we lived in Nigeria. We used to listen to the World Service and in those days Dave Lee Travis, the Hairy Cornflake, used to have a music show which I very much enjoyed, not only for the music but also for his mad humour.

He invented the character of Freddie the Fearless Fly, and each week I would wait with bated breath to hear what exploit Freddie would be undertaking. It was during the time of Evel Knievel, who used to ride his motorbike over the top of a number of buses and land on the other side.

One week Freddie rode his motorbike over 11 WORLD SERVICE PRODUCERS …88|

A fearless achievement. I was inspired.

So one evening Hub was out, the kids were in bed and I was feeling in a silly mood, I decided I would write to Freddie. I told him that I was writing on behalf of Mirabelle the Mosquito, whose only ambition in life was to get a good swig of British blood. The only time I didn’t have trouble with her was when she heard Freddie come buzzing on the radio, at which point she would describe heart-shaped flight-paths in the air.

So would Freddie please play Simon and Garfunkel – and blow Mirabelle a kiss to put her out of her misery?

To my delight the Hairy Cornflake read out the whole thing, with great solemnity, and then Mirabelle got her very loud and sticky kiss.

:crazy: :))

And I got my Simon and Garfunkel.

23 thoughts on “FREDDIE THE FEARLESS FLY and MIRABELLE THE MOSQUITO

      1. 😉 Don’t think Freddie would last long … although African mozzies are a lot faster and zippier than English ones! Christeve would have a challenge :yes:

        Like

Leave a Reply

