CHRISTIANS AND MUSLIMS WORKING TOGETHER THROUGH WORLD VISION

World Vision is an international organisation doing excellent work in many different countries, particularly in the relief of need. Although it is Christian, it works with people of every faith. Here, a Muslim reflects on his 5 years working with World Vision, concentrating on the principles we have in common. I find it uplifting because it shows that this is not only possible, but being done.

World-Vision

http://www.worldvision.org.uk/

“After working with World Vision for five years, I have realised an incredible privilege that enables me not only to pursue a career but also to serve Allah in my work. Having participated in an interfaith dialogue and realising this fact has changed me remarkably. I feel so happy about it because for the first time I am linking my career to my faith.

In the past, when I worked for other international organisations in Somalia and Somaliland, my primary motivation was employment and survival. This obscured my vision such that I could not see the bigger picture in my work – serving Allah. Now I have a job that serves God and other people – it is a miracle and an unbelievable experience.

What strikes me most now is that this new realisation came about from working with a Christian-based organisation. I must confess this new understanding has provided me with extra motivation to settle into the organisation – an organisation I feel called by Allah to be with.

I feel proud that at World Vision we are all brothers and sisters serving to achieve a common goal, despite our different religions. During the interfaith dialogue, I learnt about the commonalities between Christianity and Islam. Prayers, seeking a continuous relationship with God and the concept of Zakat which is giving to the less fortunate are only some examples of these commonalities. Appreciating these facts can unite us to stand side-by-side for our common purposes, to use our differences constructively to help children and communities.

I am so thankful to Allah and World Vision for a great mission. I can hardly think of where else I could obtain such remarkable transformation.”

Mr Osman is a staff member who attended an interfaith dialogue meeting in Hargeisa, Somaliland in June. The annual dialogue sessions aim to foster understanding between staff of Christian and Muslim faiths and work towards a common goal of service to humanity.

Note: “ Allah” is the Arabic term for God used by both Arab Christians and Muslims, and found in both the Arabic Bible and the Qur’an.

by Abdirahman H. Osman, Project Officer – WV Somaliland Global Fund HIV/AIDS

13 thoughts on “CHRISTIANS AND MUSLIMS WORKING TOGETHER THROUGH WORLD VISION

      1. They are mainly to promote the interests of the large profit making corporations who own them.The Guardian is owned by a non-profit making trust.Why so many attacks on the poor?It’s in the interests of the rich to turn the working class against each other..Let’s hope it will change with this scandal.

        Like

      2. I stopped reading the Times a long time ago because I was so incensed at the way that opinion is peddled as reportage. We now take the Independent – only once a week – but a very interesting article in there on Monday by Robert Fisk at the way that his reports for the Times from the Middle East were edited in order to show a pro-Israel stance. In the end, he left.

        Like

      3. It’s a Murdoch paper.I like the Independent and The Guardian.Alan Rusbridger is very impressive on Newsnight.They are the ones who got this hacking story out.
        As I come from near Manchester I’ve read it since I was six.
        I’ll have to write in and tell them! I can quite believe what you say.They should not write a story to fit preconceptions.xx

        Like

Leave a Reply

