NOT GETTING AWAY AT THE GYM, COINCIDENCE – OR NOT

I don’t exactly go to the gym in order to have a break from the parish … which is just as well, because it would be a sad failure!

Today one church member ambled in when I was busy on the exercise bike and greeted me affectionately.

exercise_bike_1[1]

I remembered I needed to have a conversation with her about something … so when she was on her bike we had a natter, and took some Executive Decisions :))

Then I just missed a bus home on my way out of the gym – darn. I knew I would have to wait at least 15 minutes so decided to walk home instead. As I reached my own road I saw another church member across the road, who waved to me. I went over and discovered she was in bits – an appalling situation at home, which necessitated her moving out immediately with her two little children and going to live with a friend of her mother’s until she could be rehoused. She needed to speak urgently to Hub … but when?

I took her home and left her in conclave with Hub and our community minister, let in the United Reformed Church minister who comes and ‘does’ for us when we need a URC Communion, and started making various teas and coffees for the assorted riff-raff.

Hub segued from pastoral crisis to ministers’ meeting to another meeting while I caught up with some of the work I landed myself with from our staff meeting this morning.

Ugh. Meetings. Hate them but can’t do without them.

But it occurred to me. If I hadn’t missed the bus, I wouldn’t have met the mum in trouble, and wouldn’t have been able to offer some support and help.

I have a friend who doesn’t talk about coincidences. She calls them Godincidences.

26 thoughts on “NOT GETTING AWAY AT THE GYM, COINCIDENCE – OR NOT

  1. GillyK

    Will talk to both Yoga and keep fit teachers on Monday and Tuesday next week…with talking to my GP Wednesday as I was able to get an appointment fillinmg in for a cancellation!

    Always
    KerryGirl

    Like

      1. GillyK

        I think the days of me squeeing into a catsuit have long since gone…not less the keep fit can work miricales!!

        Always
        KerryGirl

        Like

      2. GillyK

        Actually I want to go back to bed….BUT I have to go out today where i’d rather leave everything till tomorrow! My cat would be happy if I don’t go out as he’s comfy on my lap right now!!

        Always
        KerryGirl

        Like

  2. A hallmark of god’s intervention is that it seldom has just ONE effect …but several that fly off in different directions and all with outcomes that are disctinctly and consistantly good. I’ve had serveral quite profound ‘godincidences’ in my own life, just recently and the sheer scope of them has emerged gradually …it’s not possible for me to say which is the most striking …as they are all amazing, in different ways.

    Like

    1. They are, aren’t they!

      The only way we get time off is by getting in the car and driving away somewhere and not coming back for several hours, which is what we do on our day off! It would be nice to be able to relax at home … but although that does happen we are always ‘on duty’.

      Like

  3. I think it’s true to say that in your line of work, you are going to be in demand all the time. As you say it was fortunate that you missed your bus, allowing you to be there for a woman in real distress:)x

    Like

    1. People don’t always understand that we are ‘on the job’ (so to speak 😉 ) the whole time, Janet – that’s why we have to go out for the day, on our day off – or we’d never have a chance to relax!

      Like

  4. GillyK

    I’ve just been over to the local commuity centre to see about courses and spent time talking to ‘The Warden’ who told me about this and that and possible Yoga being my point of interest and reason for my visit but also a Keep-fit group as I know I need to get rid of some spare ring arround my middle….only problem is my worry about energetic Keep-fit and FibroMyaligia!

    Always
    KerryGirl

    Like

    1. Hub had to get checked out with the doctor before he could start at the gym, Kerry (high blood pressure) – it’s worth doing especially as you certainly don’t want to make FBM any worse – nasty thing, that.

      Like

      1. GillyK

        According to ‘The Warden’ the keep fit teacher appears about quater of an hour before class on a Monday so might be worth going and talking to her in advance!

        The Yoga teacher she think is a physio-terorist(Physiothearpist by day)so She’s a pretty good choice for relaxation and loosening up if not loss of the dreaded fat.

        BUT

        As you say speak to your doctor first, leave a message etc., which i’ll do tommorrow when I pick up medications

        Always
        KerryGirl

        Like

      2. My aims in joining the gym (which is free) were pretty modest – I wanted to get fitter and as I am losing flexibility and have started with some mild arthritis I wanted to loosen up as well. I try and go twice a week, but the last 3 weeks I have only been once! It suits me because it’s very focused – 10 minutes on each machine, working certain sets of muscles, which is what I wanted.

        I imagine Yoga is a good choice because you need something gentle, so as not to set off you FBM. Good luck, Kerry!

        Like

      3. GillyK

        It’s a term used in hospital’s for physio’s….

        Just as Ortheopedic’s is Ortheopods!

        Gynae and heart wards are known as plumbing

        Urology is known as Bladder Daddies!!

        Always
        KerryGirl

        Like

Leave a Reply

